United Nations Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020

With resolution A/RES/64/255 of 10 May 2010, the UN General Assembly proclaimed the period 2011–2020 as the Decade of Action for Road Safety, with a goal to stabilize and then reduce the forecast level of road traffic fatalities around the world by increasing activities conducted at the national, regional and global levels.

11 May 2011 - Launch of the Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020

The calendar of activities for the Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020 reflects an impressive number of events - several hundred in more than 70 countries. From New Zealand to Mexico and the Russian Federation to South Africa, governments are committing to take new steps to save lives on their roads. In countries such as Australia, Cambodia, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mexico, Niger, Nigeria, the Philippines, Slovenia, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan and Viet Nam, governments will host high-profile events and release national plans to improve road safety and services for victims.

Logo: Wear. Believe. Act. Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020

A number of landmark national monuments will be illuminated with the road safety "tag", the new symbol for the Decade. These include Times Square in New York City; Christ the Redeemer statue and the Castillo de Fiocruz in Rio de Janeiro; Trafalgar Square in London; the Jet d'Eau in Geneva; the Palace of Culture and Science in Warsaw; the World Trade Centre in Colombo, among others.

Read more : http://www.un.org/en/roadsafety/